top of page

New Board Leadership Announced for 2023

Updated: Jan 26, 2023

Childcare Resources Announces New Board Leadership for 2023

New Board of Directors Named as Advocates for Early Education

Childcare Resources, a Birmingham-based non-profit organization and United Way of Central Alabama partner agency, has announced new Executive Officers and Board Members for 2023. The leadership, including seven new members, will continue to drive philanthropic endeavors to support the organization’s mission through innovative partnerships, donor relations, advocacy, and strategic planning.

Five individuals stand smiling in front of a bookshelf filled with books
2023 Board Executive Committee (L to R): Dr. Kristin Powell, Liz Hyde, Jenna Dorlon, Jay Snipes, Kelly Metz (Not Pictured Cynthia Copeland and Rick Morris)

“More than 69,000 children in the state of Alabama between the ages of three and four are not enrolled in school,” says Joan Wright, Executive Director of Childcare Resources. “This means thousands of children in our community are missing out on opportunities vital to their development. Our Board leadership values Childcare Resources as a contributing solution to the challenges young families face in accessing and affording care, and is committed to championing efforts to ensure all children receive the quality care and education they both need and deserve.”

The Executive Officers and Board Members for 2023 include:

  • Chair: Jenna Dorlon — Manager of Business Development, American Express

  • Vice Chair: Liz Hyde — President, Hyde Engineering Inc.

  • Secretary: Kelly Metz — Director, Mortgage Finance, Synovus Bank

  • Treasurer: Jay Snipes — Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer, Bureau of the Fiscal Service, Department of the Treasury

  • Past Chair: Rick Morris — President, R2 Consulting

New Members include Dawn Anderson (Previous Owner, Tree of Knowledge Learning Center), Alicia F. Bennett (Attorney/Shareholder, Hill Hill Carter Franco Cole & Black), Paul S. Bell (Attorney, Miller Christie & Kinney PC), Allie Harrison Imaghodor (Administrative Coordinator, Alabama Oncology; Founder and Executive Director, XVI), Kamonte Kelly (VP Relationship Manager, Cadence Bank), André A. Lessears Sr. (Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer, UAB Health System), and Stuart D. Roberts (Principal, Bressler Amery & Ross PC).

Seven individuals stand smiling next to each other in front of a bookshelf
New Board Members (L to R): Stuart Roberts, Dawn Anderson, Alicia Bennett, Kamonte Kelly, Allie Harrison Imaghodor, Paul Bell, and Andre Lessears

Returning Members include Laura Boyles (Community Volunteer), John C. Brown (Contractor and Multifamily Housing, Business Development, Spire Energy), LaQuisha Buggs (Energy Services Manager, Alabama Power), Michelle Chambers (Children’s Church Ministry Leader, Sixth Avenue Baptist Church), Cynthia D. Copeland (Intelligence Analyst, Federal Bureau of Investigation), Albert Finch (Commercial Banking Professional), Lizzie Harbin (VP of Public Affairs, Communications, Education and Human Relations, Professional Compounding Centers of America), Dr. William Harper-Hooper IV (Assistant Professor of Early Childhood Education, University of Montevallo), Stuart Johnson (Financial Advisor, Raymond James), Scott D. Kellner (Owner, Spoiled Rotten Photography), Lauren Leach (AVP, Planning and Population Health, UAB Medicine), Veronica L. Merritt (Chief Compliance Officer, HR, City of Birmingham), Nikki Ming-White (Learning and Development Professional, Regions Financial), Dr. Ty Moody (Executive Director/Founder, Einstein’s Playground), Dr. Kristin Powell (Psychologist/Consultant, Blankenship & Seay Consulting), Michael “Mike” Rebholz (VP of Operations, Protective Life), Terrica Richardson (HR Recruiting Consultant II, Wells Fargo), and Mary Smith (Retired, VP Treasury Operations, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Alabama).

Board Committees will be led by Cynthia D. Copeland and Liz Hyde (Marketing/PR Committee), Kelly Metz (Resource Development Committee), Dr. Kristin Powell (Board Development Committee), and Jay Snipes (Agency Operations Committee).

91 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page